Feb. 7th, 2004

lincolnkw: (Default)
Nipplegate. (or just look at the pretty icon and imagine him saying that to Justin)

A stupid stunt that snowballed. Keep in mind this is simply my opinion based on what little infrmation has been acquired from the media and LJ.

Who's at fault? Both of them. If it's true she came up with it, what was she thinking?? If he knew and went along with it (as his immediate remarks afterwards seemed to indicate) he was an idiot. It makes them both look bad.

The FCC. Simply doing their stated function. Yeah, it's currently a Republican administration but I find it a little difficult to believe that, under any administration, they would let something like this slide. That's what cable is for.

CBS and NFL. They are corporations looking out for their bottom line. They, unfortunately, didn't handle it very well. Spin went in the wrong direction for their needs. They are coming off as the bad guys to many.

JC. Pretty much a (relatively) innocent victim. PRetty though. SOme Girls at half time woudl have been nice to see. PRobably not his best choice considering, but he comes from a different place then most sports fans.

LJ. Some knee-jerk responses, some with no thought at all, some very well thoght out. On both sides. On no sides. On all sides. I get that the sparkly fandom is largely a younger liberal female crowd. As a 35 year old white male from an upper-middle class military family from New England who was taught in an inner-city school where I was the minority for years, my thoughts were the above. I do not share everyone's ideals, nor should they all share mine. My friends list covers both sexes, multiple sexual orientations, many races, ages from teens to forty-somethings, conservative and liberal, religious and not. That's what's so nice about LJ, it has all kinds.

I think I've lost my train of thought, that has a tendency to happen to me, unfortunately. I definitley know I'm not as smart as certain people on my flist, but I'm happy as I am. I generally don't talk politics or religion (and doubt I actually have yet) as people seem to run hot on these subjects. I shall say this once, I am a liberal-leaning moderate and an agnostic. I used to be an extreme-liberal activist and a Mormon. Things change.

Profile

lincolnkw: (Default)
lincolnkw

December 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
23 45678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:05 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios