lincolnkw: (Default)
[personal profile] lincolnkw
I saw this in [livejournal.com profile] wayfairer's LJ and am stealing it becasue it made me think.

Considering that an OTP is the "One True Pairing", and if we define OTP as the ultimate ideal of what love is or can be, then, my question is this:

Who would you consider your OTP to be? And what does that say about your personal ideas of love, and the notion of love as an ideal? Even if you don't have an "OTP" for a fandom is there a specific couple in real life or literature that represents to you the notion of all that love can be? And what do you think that means for you personally? How have you seen those ideals play out in your own life? Or have you?

What does your OTP say about who you are?


It's interesting if you look at my "OTP"s for each fandom. You have Harry/Draco, Howie/Lance, Orlando/Elijah in AUs and Dom/Elijah in non-AUs, and Xander/Spike.

If you look at the Harry/Draco pairing it is THE one pairing that will never happen in canon. Draco hates Hary and is largely one-dimensional and Harry hates/has no use for Draco. So my underlying love for this pairing is that it is so unlikely and has the largest chance for Drama. I'm not sure what this says about me other than I like Drama.

Lance/Howie. It's about the two most likely to be gay and their beautiful and quiet love. Or as I like to call it in my mind: two Type As who taste great together. Again, not very likely in real life. Both business minded, both seem to be straight but there are signs, both must be type-a personalities and both are the quiet ones of their groups. I like 'em thoughtful and with depth.

Orli/Elijah is all about the pretty. The Eyes vs. the Expression. I get week when there are beautiful eyes about, Elijah's are too big for his face, but still beautiful. he's very fey. Orlando has nice hair and cheekbones. And the line going from his hip to his groin is like buttah. I admit it, I'm shallow sometimes.

Dom/Elijah just makes my brain melt. Honestly, Elijah doesn't do much for me in the physcial aspect and Orlando is pretty sometimes but Dom has the personality and the quirky looks I like. He is probably the closest thing n this list to my "ideal".

Xander/Spike. Spike would as soon kill Xander than fuck him and Xander is scared/wants to kill Spike. But Spike has attitude and ss on the outside looking in and wants to belong, while Xander is "everyman" and the one whom things happen to without his truly understanding them. He is supportive and funny and hot, in a frat boy sort of way, and I am now thinking of him and Dom together and my mind is wandering off into pretty tangents. Mmmm. They would laugh during sex, they would.

Out of all of those I would go with Howie/Lance being my most likely to come out on top OTP.

I think my OTPs show that I root for the underdog and have a real liking for pairs that just wouldn't work together in real life. Drama, Angst, humor with a side of pretty. Which culd explain why I'm single. And I just realized they're almost all blonde/brunette pairings. Hmm. I love brunettes over blondes but for years there all I dated was blondes, strange. Now what does this mean for my idea of "love" and how these represent my ideals? Absolutely nothing as I lost the train of thought for this post around about the sentence where Dom started licking up Xander's biceps and putting his hands down th efron of Xander's pants while Xander babbles about Lord of the Rings and did Dom get to try on the Ring at any point?

Mmmm.

Date: 2004-11-20 06:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] msktrnanny.livejournal.com
Now what does this mean for my idea of "love" and how these represent my ideals? Absolutely nothing as I lost the train of thought for this post around about the sentence where Dom started licking up Xander's biceps and putting his hands down th efron of Xander's pants while Xander babbles about Lord of the Rings and did Dom get to try on the Ring at any point?

I adore when a good academic argument disintegrates into basic olf fashioned lust.

You know, I never gave the OTP thing any thought beyond Chris and Lance being my favorites and smart asses. Guess that means I don't give a lick about love past being entertained. Which does explain why I'm single but not why I'm action free. Hmmm.

Date: 2004-11-20 07:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] o4fuxache.livejournal.com
I probably will never post up an answer... but I have started thinking about this.

Date: 2004-11-21 02:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] paperdollkisses.livejournal.com
My OTP says I'm a trickyfish slasher with no boundaries. Because WOOO. Chris and Lance are fantastic when doing the whole argue, coy, flirt, sex, nitpick, be friends, take care of each other thing.

It's like, they were MFEO you know? Beauty and the Beast.

Of course anyone that can make JC laugh is a fabulous OTP. So GSF is good too.

Date: 2004-11-22 04:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lincolnkw.livejournal.com
I lovethe snarky Chris/Lance it';s just too much fun.

And I jusy saw the picture in your LJ, with the green eyes and the lock of hair in front of your glasses! Woah. You look fantastic! The me!icon was quite fun as well.

Date: 2004-11-23 07:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] paperdollkisses.livejournal.com
LOL. Thank you! I had a lot of fun yesterday.

I love snarky. Although I'm out of snark. I have to figure out two snarky texts for a Chris icon and a Lance icon.

The muse, he is impotent. Hee hee.

Date: 2004-11-25 04:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tallories.livejournal.com
Very interesting. I'm a big JuC girl, though I couldn't really tell you why. They're both gorgeous and have voices like spun gold? Sure, but there's something deeper than that... some sort of dynamic that fits JC's personality, that easygoing innocence that coats a core of responsibility and shyness, with Justin's enthusiasm and determination and deep-seeded fear and curiosity. I don't know. Just something about the way they lock together.

My real OTP, though, is Lance and Jessie. The idea of the two of them together was what pulled me into slash. Again, two gorgeous guys, but I think it's more the dynamic.

Date: 2004-11-25 07:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lincolnkw.livejournal.com
I want to say with Lance/Jessie it's the fact thay so barely hide things. It's almost text instead of subtext. And where IS Jessie??? Did they get a memo saying "cool it"? Or what?

And I love your description of JuC - that is such a good one.

Date: 2004-11-25 06:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tallories.livejournal.com
I think (I think - this is just me talking) that Lance probably had no idea how popular Jessie was in fandom until he took him to this year's Challenge. It would have been hard for Lance and Jessie not to notice that most everyone knew exactly who Jessie was, and it would have been just as hard for them not to realize that the fans were considering Jessie a little more than Lance's "assistant." Since Lance obviously isn't ready to come out, my guess is that he decided to clamp down on their public appearances in the hope that fandom would forget. He obviously doesn't know us well. ;)

So, anyway. That's my take on it. :D

Profile

lincolnkw: (Default)
lincolnkw

December 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
23 45678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 05:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios